More than 12 Burmese junta ministers are reportedly preparing to resign and to contest in the 2010 election. More than 12 ministers in Burma's junta are reportedly preparing to resign and to run for seats in parliament in the 2010 election, according to military sources.

"Deputy ministers who do not contest in the election will take the vacant position of the ministers," said a source in Rangoon.

The ministers designated to run for office in parliament are believed to include Soe Tha, the minister of National Planning & Economic Development; Brig-Gen Aung Thein Linn, the Rangoon mayor; and Brig-Gen Kyaw Hsan, the Information minister, according to the source, who requested anonymity because he was not authorized to make the information public.

Aung Thaung, the minister of Industry-1, also is expected to contest in the election.

The ministers are expected to run in constituencies in townships in Rangoon Division, Irrawaddy Division, Sagaing Division and Arakan and Kachin states, according to the source.

Under the 2008 Constitution, 25 percent of the representatives in the People's Assembly (Lower House) and National Assembly (Upper House) will be military officials appointed by the commander-in-chief of the Tamadaw (armed forces).

The source said there is speculation that another 18 ministers would also either run for office or be appointed directly to serve in parliament by the commander-in-chief. No names were available.

Current government ministers are also expected to lead the junta's mass organization, the Union Solidarity and Development Association, and two proxy political parties, which have yet to register with the Election Commission.

USDA sources said the organization would name one of the proxy parties the "Guidance Democracy Party." Ex-military officers are expected to lead the parties, which will register in the near future.

State-run television on Wednesday announced that the technical regulations on how to register as a political party will be published on Thursday.