Burma will hold parliamentary elections on Nov. 7, the first in 20 years. According to the new Constitution approved in a referendum in 2008, the country has a bicameral parliament at the national level and a regional parliament in each of seven states and seven divisions. On Aug.11, the Union Election Commission defined the constituencies of all the parliaments.

The People's Parliament (Pyithu Hluttaw) is composed of 440 seats, but only 330 seats will be elected by the people in 330 constituencies, which are defined in accord with the 330 townships of the country.

Previously, Burma was formed with 325 townships, but the construction of the new capital in Naypyidaw created five new townships in Mandalay Division. The remaining 110 seats are designated as the military's share in parliament, to be appointed by the commander-in-chief of the armed forces.

The Nationalities Parliament (Amyotha Hluttaw) is composed of 224 seats, but only 168 seats will be elected by the people, withy 56 seats making up military appointments. Each state and division will have a share of 12 seats equally in the Amyotha Hluttaw.

The size of the regional parliaments will vary depending on the size of each state and division. Each township will get two seats for the respective regional parliament and the minority ethnic groups living in each state and division which has 0.1 percent of the country's population will get one seat in the regional parliament. In 14 regional parliaments, there will be a total of 665 seats which include 29 seats for minority ethnic groups in the respective areas.

It should be noted that eight townships recently designated as Naypyidaw District are excluded from the constituencies for the Mandalay Division parliament and four townships from the Wa Self-Administrative Division in Shan State are excluded from the constituencies for the Shan State parliament, presumably due to the disagreement surrounding the border guard force transformation between the United Wa State Army (UWSA) and the military.

In total, there will be 1,163 seats in the national and regional parliaments elected by the people.

Based on the information released by the Election Commission, *The Irrawaddy* has drawn a map showing the distribution of the constituencies in the national and regional parliaments. It should be noted that the following figures exclude the military's share in all three level of the parliaments.

Elected Parliamentary Seats in the New Legislative Bodies

People's Parliament = 330 seats Nationalities Parliament = 168 seats State and Region Parliament = 665 (including 29 minority seats) Total Seats for all Parliaments = 1,163 seats

Distribution of Parliamentary Seats in States and Regions

Kachin State

People's Parliament = 18 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 40 seats

Kayah State

People's Parliament = 7 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 15 seats

Karen (Kayin) State

People's Parliament = 7 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 17 seats

Chin State

People's Parliament = 9 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 18 seats

Sagaing Division

People's Parliament = 37 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 76 seats

Tenasserim (Tanintharyi) Division

People's Parliament = 10 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 21 seats

Pegu (Bago) Division

People's Parliament = 28 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 57 seats

Magway (Magwe) Division

People's Parliament = 25 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 51 seats

Mandalay Division

People's Parliament = 36 seats Nationalities Parliament = 12 seats State & Region Parliament = 57 seats

