The Irrawaddy Burma Election 2010

Home NEWS New Coalition for Election Formed in Rangoon

New Coalition for Election Formed in Rangoon

E-mail Print PDF
Fourteen independent candidates contesting the upcoming election on Nov. 7 formed a coalition in Rangoon on Monday. Consisting of six independent candidates for the People's Parliament and eight candidates for  the Region and State Parliaments, the coalition issued a joint statement on Monday after a lunch in Rangoon's Traders Hotel.

The independent candidates urged voters to go to polling stations on election day .

“Think bravely and act accordingly!” the statement said. “Go to the polling stations and cast your vote. Do not give your vote to candidates who will only follow orders! And most importantly, do not give your vote to those who contest the election because they have money [because they will not benefit the people],” said Yan Kyaw, an independent candidate contesting for a seat in the People's parliament in the Pazuntaung constituency.

Ba Tint Swe, who is contesting for the People's Parliament in North Okkalapa constituency, said independent candidates faced difficulties when they registered for the election at the Union Election Commission (EC).

“Independent candidates are only allowed to use names shown on their identity cards and cannot use ones by which they are popularly known in the communities where they are campaigning,” he said.

“People in my town know me as Ba Tint Swe but the EC only allows me to register with the name Tint Swe as it appears on my ID card. I have requested the local EC to allow me to use my  popular name but have received no reply.”

The launch of the independent candidates' coalition was reportedly attended by over 50 people including domestic and international reporters, invited guests, intelligence personnel and police.

Apart from Ba Tint Swe and Yan Kyaw, the four other independent candidates who will contest for the People's Parliament are Tin Aye (Laeway constituency), Dr. Soe Lwin (Lay Myatnar constituency), Kaung Myint Htut (South Okkalapa constituency) and Zaw Oo (Dala Constituency).

The eight independent candidates who will contest for the Region and State Parliaments are Hla Shein (Mawlamying constituency No. 1), Zaw Min Thein (Lay Myatnar constituency No. 1), Dr. Than Myint (Amarapura constituency No.1), Kyi Oo Thein (North Okkalapa constituency No. 2), Dr. Saw Naing (South Okkalapa constituency No.1), Win Cho (Dala constituency No.1), Win Ko Ko Win (Thanlyin constituency No.1) and Thein Htay (Thanphyuzayut constituency).


Nyan_win80"Once her [Aung San Suu Kyi's] sentence expires in November, and that notion is not disputed, it is our understanding that she will have served her sentence."
—Nyan Win, the foreign minister of Burma


Will you vote or boycott the Nov. 7 election?




Burma Population Data


Elected Seats in Parliaments