The Irrawaddy Burma Election 2010



Burma Population Data

E-mail Print PDF



A Survey of NLD Officials on the 2010 Election

E-mail Print PDF
survey_map_smallThe National League for Democracy (NLD) now faces a critical choice and must make a historic decision on whether it will re-register as a political party and contest the Burmese election or face dissolution. The NLD will discuss the issue on March 29 in a meeting of the party's central committee at its headquarters in Rangoon. The Irrawaddy is now surveying the opinions of NLD officials at the township level and the result will be updated.

Constituencies at the National, State and Division Levels

E-mail Print PDF
Burma will hold parliamentary elections on Nov. 7, the first in 20 years. According to the new Constitution approved in a referendum in 2008, the country has a bicameral parliament at the national level and a regional parliament in each of seven states and seven divisions. On Aug.11, the Union Election Commission defined the constituencies of all the parliaments.

The People's Parliament (Pyithu Hluttaw) is composed of 440 seats, but only 330 seats will be elected by the people in 330 constituencies, which are defined in accord with the 330 townships of the country.
Previously, Burma was formed with 325 townships, but the construction of the new capital in Naypyidaw created five new townships in Mandalay Division. The remaining 110 seats are designated as the military's share in parliament, to be appointed by the commander-in-chief of the armed forces.

The Nationalities Parliament (Amyotha Hluttaw) is composed of 224 seats, but only 168 seats will be elected by the people, withy 56 seats making up military appointments. Each state and division will have a share of 12 seats equally in the Amyotha Hluttaw.

The size of the regional parliaments will vary depending on the size of each state and division. Each township will get two seats for the respective regional parliament and the minority ethnic groups living in each state and division which has 0.1 percent of the country's population will get one seat in the regional parliament. In 14 regional parliaments, there will be a total of 665 seats which include 29 seats for minority ethnic groups in the respective areas.

It should be noted that eight townships recently designated as Naypyidaw District are excluded from the constituencies for the Mandalay Division parliament and four townships from the Wa Self-Administrative Division in Shan State are excluded from the constituencies for the Shan State parliament, presumably due to the disagreement surrounding the border guard force transformation between the United Wa State Army (UWSA) and the military.

In total, there will be 1,163 seats in the national and regional parliaments elected by the people.

Based on the information released by the Election Commission, The Irrawaddy has drawn a map showing the distribution of the constituencies in the national and regional parliaments. It should be noted that the following figures exclude the military's share in all three level of the parliaments.



Nyan_win80"Once her [Aung San Suu Kyi's] sentence expires in November, and that notion is not disputed, it is our understanding that she will have served her sentence."
—Nyan Win, the foreign minister of Burma


Will you vote or boycott the Nov. 7 election?




Burma Population Data


Elected Seats in Parliaments