The Irrawaddy Burma Election 2010

Home NEWS Election Commission Members from Various Backgrounds

Election Commission Members from Various Backgrounds

E-mail Print PDF
The 17 individuals chosen by the Burmese regime to form the Union Election Commission are a mixture of former military officers, judges, lawyers, professors and ethnic nationals.

All 16 members and their chairman were required to meet the criteria laid down by the Union Election Commission Law: they must be retired and “distinguished and reputable elders” above the age of 50.

The majority of the chosen members are retired government officials who served under the ruling junta and took retirement in recent years.

The UEC chairman, Thein Soe, is a former major-general who served as a military judge advocate general and later as deputy chief justice of the Supreme Court. He was also a member of the commission that drafted the 2008 Constitution.

The other UEC members, officially identified on Thursday, are:

N Zaw Naw, a Kachin national and former district law officer in Myitkyina, capital of Kachin State. He also served on the    Commission for Drafting the State Constitution.

Dr. Ba Maung, former director-general of the Historical Research Department.

Nyunt Tin, former secretary of the Myanmar Institute of Strategic and International Studies, which was established by the deposed prime minister Gen Khin Nyunt.

Aung Myint, a former member of the Civil Service Selection and Training Board.

Myint Naing, a former deputy attorney general.

Dr. Tin Aung Aye, a former Supreme Court judge who also served on the Commission for Drafting the State Constitution. He was earlier a   professor and rector of Rangoon University.

Dr. Myint Kyi, formerly head of the department of international relations at Rangoon University. She also served as chairwoman of the Myanmar Women's Affairs Federation.

Dr. Maung Htoo, a retired professor and former rector of Myonwa University, Sagaing Division.

The remaining members are Khin Maung Nu, Saw Ba Hlaing, Maung Tha Hla, Dr. Sai Khan Hlaing, Khin Hla Myint, Tha Oo, Tha Htay and Win Kyi.



Nyan_win80"Once her [Aung San Suu Kyi's] sentence expires in November, and that notion is not disputed, it is our understanding that she will have served her sentence."
—Nyan Win, the foreign minister of Burma


Will you vote or boycott the Nov. 7 election?




Burma Population Data


Elected Seats in Parliaments